Thursday 12 November 2015

After Long Wait, Nigeria Gets Cabinet Ministers.

Nigeria on Wednesday finally got a new cabinet after more than five months of waiting, as 36 ministers and junior ministers swore the oath of allegiance and were assigned formal roles.
The ceremony at President Muhammadu Buhari's official residence in the capital, Abuja, brought to an end 166 days in which he has effectively been in sole charge of Africa's leading economy.

Buhari described the appointments as a "milestone" and indicated it had taken so long to decide because of the need to put "round pegs in round holes" with the right people for the job.
"I have been conscious of the need not to repeat the mistakes of the past," he said, adding the ministers had been chosen on the basis of their abilities and performance.

Group Picture Of The Cabinet Members

The full list of the ministers and their offices are as follows:

Geoffrey Onyeama (Enugu) — Foreign Affairs
Kemi Adeosun (Ogun) – Finance
Rotimi Amaechi (Rivers)–Transportation
Chris Ngige (Anambra)–Labour and Employment
Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti)–Solid Minerals
Babatunde Fashola (Lagos)–Power, Works and Housing
Abdulrahman Dambazau (Kano)–Interior
Aisha Alhassan (Taraba)–Women Affairs
Ogbonnaya Onu (Ebonyi)–Science and Technology
Abubakar Malami (Kebbi)–Justice
Hadi Sirika (Katsina)–State for Aviation
Suleiman Adamu (Jigawa)–Water Resources
Solomon Dalong (Plateau)–Youths and Sports
Ibeh Kachikwu (Delta)–State for Petroleum
Osagie Ehanire (Edo)–State for Health
Audu Ogbeh (Benue)–Agriculture
Udo Udo Udoma (Akwa Ibom)–Budget and National Planning
Lai Mohammed (Kwara)–Information
Amina Mohammed (Gombe)–Environment
Ibrahim Usman Jibril (Nasarawa)— State for Environment
Anthony Onwuka (Imo) – State for Education
Muhammadu Bello (Adamawa) — FCT
Adamu Adamu (Bauchi) — Education
Okechukwu Enelamah (Abia) – Industry, Trade and Investment
Aisha Abubakar (Sokoto) — State for Trade, Industry and Investment
Khadija Bukar Abba (Yobe) – State for Foreign Affairs
Claudius Daramola (Ondo) – State for Niger Delta
Monsur Dan-Ali (Zamfara) — Defence
James Ocholi (Kogi) – State for Labour
Zainab Ahmed (Kaduna) – State for Budget and National Planning
Mustapha Shehuri (Borno) — State for Power
Heineken Lokpobiri (Bayelsa)–State for Agriculture
Isaac Adewole Folorunsho (Osun) — Health
Usani Usani Uguru (Cross River) — Niger Delta
Abubakar Bwari Bawa (Niger) — State for Solid Minerals
Adebayo Shittu (Oyo) — Communications
President Muhammadu Buhari — Petroleum

A battle to get Nigeria's crude-dependent economy back on track, with government revenues hit hard since last year by the global slump in oil prices faces Minister Of Finance.
GDP growth is currently running at just 2.35 percent, while inflation is creeping towards 10 percent and the naira currency is weak.

No comments:

Post a Comment