Friday 19 February 2016

2017 census: NPC starts enumeration in 29 states

Ahead of the rescheduled conduct of the 2017 national census, the Chairman of National Population Commission (NPC), Chief Eze Duruiheoma has flagged off the second phase of the Enumeration Area Demarcation (EAD), with 29 states expected to be captured.

Duruiheoma said the EAD is part of the core preparatory activities for the census exercise.
“The EAD constitutes the foundation on which the entire census architecture stands. In pre-census period, the total number of EAD and its distribution is required for census planning, particularly the deployment of personnel, logistics and materials for pre-test, trial census, the main census and the post enumeration survey,” he explained.
In the first phase of the enumeration, which took place between 26th of November and 26th December, 2015, one local government in each of the six geopolitical zones and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).
In the second phase, 29 local government areas in 29 states of the federation were not covered under the pilot test. The states include Abia, Adamawa, Anambra, Bauchi, Bayelsa, Benue, Borno, Cross River, Delta and Ebonyi.
Others are Edo, Ekiti, Enugu, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebi, ‎Kogi, Kwara, Lagos, Nasarawa, Ogun, Oyo, Plateau, Rivers, Taraba, Yobe and Zamfara states.
Meanwhile, the NPC boss has revealed that out of about 100 births recorded in the country, only 30 per cent was registered.
He said the other 70 per cent was undocumented and promised to explore opportunities to boost registration of all births in the country. He said awareness progrmmes will be created to educate the public on the importance of registration exercise.

No comments:

Post a Comment